Monday, November 17, 2008

7 new countries added to Visa Waiver Program

The US Department of State has increased the number of participating Visa Waiver Program countries from 27 to 34. The seven new countries are: the Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, the Republic of Korea, Latvia, Lithuania, and Slovakia. The 27 countries that were already in the VWP before November 17, 2008 are: Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom.

Starting today, visitors from the 7 new countries will need to apply for ESTA (Electronic System for Travel Authorization) before they travel. From January 12, 2009 onwards, all VWP travellers will need ESTA clearance. Full details about the ESTA program, including FAQs and information sheets, are here:

No comments:

Post a Comment